Audience, Location, and Segment Sets

Note: As of January 27, 2021, Basis is using a new version of location targeting. The new targeting taxonomy impacts countries, regions, and cities, but not DMA codes, ZIP/postal codes, or hyperlocal targets. You cannot add sets that include legacy country, region, or city targets to your tactics. You must re-create those sets using the new version of location targeting.

For more information, see New Location Targeting.

When you've arranged your audiences, locations, or contextual or brand protection segments and logic in a way that you might want to use again, you can save them as a set. A set includes:

  • one or more audiences, locations, or segments
  • target/exclude rules 
  • AND/OR targeting relationship between the rules

You can use a set in as many tactics as you like. When you apply a set to an existing tactic, the set overwrites all previously existing audiences, locations, or segments.

Creating a Set

  1. Select the audiences, locations, contextual brand protection segments that you want to target or exclude and set up the targeting rules. See Audience, Location, Contextual and Brand Protection for more information.

  2. Click Save as set.

  3. Give the set a name and click Save.

    brand_protection_new_set.png

    You'll find your set on the Contextual Sets tab (or Location Sets, Brand Protection Sets, or Audience Sets) for any tactic. Click the Add (+) button to apply it to a tactic.

    brand_safety_my_sets.png

Tip: You can edit the name of any set you created. In the Contextual Sets, Location Sets, Brand Protection Sets or Audience Sets tab, click the name of your set in the left panel to change it.

Editing a Set

You cannot directly edit a set's rules. Instead, create a new set with the rules you want and delete the old one.

  1. Apply the set to a tactic.

  2. Make your changes: add or remove rules, change relationship between rules, etc.

  3. Click Save as set. You can now delete the old set.

Deleting a Set

Click the X next to the set to delete it. If a set is used in a tactic and later deleted, the tactic continues to target all the segments that used to be part of that set.

brand_safety_delete_sets.png